How to make Almond Milk

When I was feeding Lottie, following medical advice, I gave up dairy for 7 months in the hope it would help her sore tummy and reflux. It seemed too help although I gave up so many things who knows what the real triggers were! I substituted the milk in my morning muesli with almond milk and now I love almond milk, it is creamy, rich and nutty. I don’t know why I didn’t make my own at the time – probably because I was a little sleep deprived!  When you look at shop bought, factory made almond milk it has other ingredients in it in addition to water and almonds to thicken it and stop it from separating so given how easy it is to make this, along with the cost, puts me off buying it.

I’m not and as far as we know neither of the children are lactose intolerant so drinking almond milk is really just a nice change to ordinary milk. There are also lots of benefits to including almond milk in your diet.  It is packed with essential nutrients, calcium and vitamins A and E. If you are looking for a lower calorie alternative to put in your smoothies then almond milk could be a good choice for you too.

Over the past couple of days I have experimented with making almond milk and I think this is the best soaking and water ratio I have found so far!

Almond Milk2014 02 16_0970

Ingredients
1 cup of almonds

Method
Soak 1 cup of almonds for 24 hours in 3-4 cups of water.

Drain and thoroughly rinse.

Place the almonds into your food processor along with 3 cups of water and process for several minutes on high. The more powerful your food processor the more milk you will get and the less almond pulp you will be left with.

Drain the milk into a jug through a muslin and squeeze the muslin to remove all the liquid.2014 02 16_0965

Transfer the milk into a bottle and refrigerate. It should keep for at least 3-4 days. Don’t throw away the almond pulp you can use it in baking as it is (it will keep for 3-4 days in the fridge) or to keep it for longer turn it into almond meal. I’ve posted step by step instructions in my post How to make Almond Meal.

We drank ours as delicious smoothies – recipes coming soon I promise!

3 thoughts on “How to make Almond Milk

  1. Pingback: How to make Almond Meal | Freddie's Food

Leave a Reply

