Aeroplane food for babies and toddlers

Well Freddie and I have finally recovered from jetlag and my brain is pretty much working normally again! The 28 hour trip over went pretty smoothly and the snacks and meals I’d packed for Freddie to eat along the way went down a treat. I thought I’d share some of the successful options with you.

The airline for the first leg of our journey provided a kid’s meal option for infants but the second airline were only offering puree which doesn’t cut it with Freddie anymore, so I had to pack a day’s worth of food plus some extra snacks. For those of you facing a long haul trip I would definitely recommend researching what airlines offer in the first place, something I didn’t do, as there is great variety.

I packed quite a lot of food that Freddie only has as ‘occasional’ foods as I wasn’t too worried about what he ate during the 28 hours just that he wasn’t hungry on the flight. When deciding what to take I figured that aeroplane food needed to be:

  • clean
  • easy to eat
  • robust enough to survive in a backpack – nothing worse than a squashed banana at the bottom of your bag!
  • guarenteed to be liked and eaten

Freddie wasn’t all that keen on the areoplane kid’s meal so I was extremely glad I had packed far too much. The bread rolls, cheese, fruit salads and yoghurts were enjoyed though and both airlines where happy to provide extra of these which was great. I worked the day we left and there was no time for home-baking so apart from sandwiches that I made I just took ready-made snacks.

I packed, in a snaplock bag, mini sandwiches – crusts cut off and finger-food sized so they could be eaten at different times during the journey. Fruit and yoghurt pouches which were a real hit! I chose the Heinz simply range which although not organic are free from sugar, colours, preservatives, flavours, salt and artificial colours. Teddies biscuits went down well and took a while to eat which was a bonus, filling a few extra minutes on the journey. Freddie also enjoyed Only Organic mini rice cakes.

Having now wandered the aisles of the local supermarkets near where we are staying I am amazed by the choice of baby and toddler food. I’m going to enjoy looking more closely at the boxes and working out some good choices. He seems to be enjoying some of the Organix Goodies and Ella’s Kitchen ranges, the products I’ve bought so far are all free from artificial flavours and colours, have no added salt, refined sugars or hydrogenated fat and contain wholegrains. We set off down to Devon today by train, so another chance to pack a picnic for Freddie!

One thought on “Aeroplane food for babies and toddlers

  1. Pingback: Surviving long haul with young children |

Leave a Reply

