Normandy Chicken

The year my darling husband gave me a slow cooker for Christmas I have to say I was less than impressed (especially as we had gotten engaged earlier that morning!). However once I got the knack of adapting some of my favourite recipes and tried out some new ones I realised what an amazing time saver it really is and it is probably one of the most used presents he’s ever given me!

The other week on an outing with a group of busy mums who juggle family life, running a house, work and trying and squeeze in some down time. We all agreed that our slow cookers make life so much easier. Whether you set it running overnight so the meal is ready in the morning or leave it to run while you are out working we all agreed there is nothing better than coming home to a meal after a busy day. We were all big fans of doubling recipes to help keep the freezer stocked with quick meals for the whole family.

I invested in a slow cooker recipe book when I first started using my slow cooker, Robyn Martin’s Best Recipes for Slow-Cookers and Crockpots. It has some great simple meals that are super quick to prepare. Her Normandy Chicken recipe is one I have used several times. I wouldn’t recommend it to under 1s because of the packet soup the recipe includes, but Freddie really enjoyed it.

$(KGrHqR,!jQE1J2OUVy-BNh!9bj!4w~~_35

Normany Chicken
Preparation: 5 minutes
Cooking Time: 6-8 hours on low
Serves: 4 (very simple to double and freezes well)

8 Chicken drumsticks or thighs
1 Packet of French Onion Soup Mix
350g apple sauce (jar or homemade)
4 tsp wholegrain mustard

Mix soup, apple and mustard in the slow cooker to make a paste.

Add the chicken pieces and coat with the apple paste.

Cook on low for 6-8 hours.

To adapt this recipe for oven cooking simple add 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock and cook at 160’C for 80 minutes.

We often eat this served with jacket potatoes. Quite delicious and very warming!

One thought on “Normandy Chicken

  1. Pingback: Week 4 Sugar Free – Top 5 Cookery Books for Christmas | Freddie's Food

Leave a Reply

