Week 4 Sugar Free – Top 5 Cookery Books for Christmas

My husband announced today at breakfast that it is 30 days to go until Christmas! Well I have done absolutely nothing to get organised. The move and getting my head round life in a new country has been my focus up until now. Having said that I’m looking forward to getting Christmassy and celebrating Aussie style this year.

One of my indulgences is cookery books and I’m always delighted to receive one as a gift. I love flicking through the pictures, reading the recipes and trying out new recipes. So if your looking for some present inspiration or for something to put on your wishlist here are my top 5 cookery books from my bookshelf:

  1. Rachel’s favourite food at home by Rachel Allen
    A great book for entertaining ideas and recipes for the kids. You won’t need to go to specialty shops for the ingredients and her recipes are easy to follow and fail safe (so far!).
  2. The Little Paris Kitchen by Rachel Khoo
    The photographs in this book make you hungry. It’s a great one for bedtime reading and for dinner party inspiration or if you want to prepare a special meal for your other half.
  3. Free Range in the City by Annabel Langbein
    This is often my go to when I’m planning my weekly shop and looking for inspiration. Lots of the recipes are quick and simple to follow and there is also an array of delicious baking to try out. Freddie and I love cooking her gingerbread men recipe and her carrot cake for a crowd has been served up at a variety of different celebrations.
  4. Robyn Martin’s best recipes for crockpots and slow cookers by Robyn Martin
    For regular Freddie’s Food followers you’ll know I love my slow cooker! This cookery book served me well as I got my head around using a slow cooker and there are some quite delicious recipes including Normandy Chicken which I shared with you a couple of months back.
  5. Fast, fresh, simple by Donna Hay
    This book is packed with great ideas that won’t take you ages to create and you are pretty much guaranteed to have most of the ingredients in you pantry. Her lemon yoghurt cake has been made by nearly all the mums in my antenatal group and is scrummy.

I got my recipe books out this week when I was looking for some inspiration with my final sugar free weekly meal planner. I have to confess that week 3 definitely didn’t finish sugar free… I managed to fall of the sugar free wagon in style devouring an enormous slice of strawberry custard tart at a dinner party of Saturday evening! I’m sure no sugar substitute would have worked in that recipe. But I’m now back on it for one final week.

Weekly Meal Planner – Week 4

MONDAY-  Rachel Allen’s Thai Pork with Coconut Coriander Sauce

TUESDAY- Teriyaki Beef Stir Fry

WEDNESDAY- Stuffed Eggplant

THURSDAY – Annabel Langbein’s Spiced Chickpea and Haloumi

FRIDAY- Homemade Pizza

SATURDAY- BBQ chicken breast and Chickpea Raita

SUNDAY- BBQ Butterflied Lamb and Roast Vegetable Israeli Couscous Salad

Leave a Reply

